Survivor Officially Ditching Controversial Twist Ahead of Season 43

Survivor Officially Ditching Controversial Twist Ahead of Season 43

After a break of 16 months, the reality competition show Survivor returned in 2021 to begin a “new phase” of its gameplay. After the Winners at War-centered 40th instalment, Seasons 41 and 42 came around and added a tonne of additional content to the game. These seasons followed in chronological order. With an entirely new set of contestants, Survivor rolled out a condensed version of the game that included a plethora of unique twists and nearly seemed to be testing out new formats. Due to the fact that those seasons were shot one after the other, they basically served as test runs for a number of different concepts, and the production crew has now had the opportunity to take in feedback and assess how well the various adjustments were implemented. A number of the recurring ideas and plot twists will be maintained. The most contentious of them all, on the other hand, will not be back when Season 43 makes its premiere the following week.

We are, of course, referring to the “Change History” component, which is more often referred to as the hourglass twist amongst enthusiasts. Both the viewers and the contestants had strong feelings about the hourglass, and host and producer Jeff Probst recently stated to Entertainment Weekly that the surprise wouldn’t be used again in Season 43.

There was a plot twist revolving around the merge in each of the two most recent seasons, and these twists drastically changed the way the game was played. In preparation for the eventual merge, the surviving castaways were divided into two teams for a competition, however two individuals were not assigned to either group. After the merger, the victorious group was given the opportunity to select one of the two groups that would not be competing, and everyone in that group was guaranteed to survive. The people who had lost the task went to the tribal council to vote someone off, while the castaway who had not been chosen was taken to a secluded area and offered the opportunity to alter the past by shattering an hourglass and switching the outcomes of the challenge. Those who were on the winning team and believed they were safe were taken to tribal council, but the individual who broke the glass was given immunity, along with the others who were on the losing side.

Season 43 alum Danny McCray notably addressed the twist on the programme, stating that it wasn’t fair to those that participated since it was less of a real surprise and more of a pure lie. McCray was referring to the fact that the secret was revealed during the show. Numerous fans shared the same sentiment, and the game of Survivor will continue without the hourglass, at least for the foreseeable future.

When will the first episode of Survivor’s 43rd season air?

Fans of the reality series Survivor who have been watching the show since its inception will be pleased to learn that the show will once again air twice a year. CBS will air the beginning of the 43rd season on September 21st, and much like the previous season, it will include a totally new cast.

Follow Us on Twitter

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top